Skip navigation Scroll to top

Scroll to top

The history of Schloss Freudenfels

Originally constructed about 1300 as a fortress with a defensive tower, the present castle complex was built during the baroque period. For centuries, monks from the Abbey of Einsiedeln lived in the castle and estate before it was converted into a unique venue for seminars and festivities.

  • a brief historical outline
  • the building’s history at a glance
  • 1996

    For economic reasons, Marti endeavors to find a partner or successor for its training center. The Liechtenstein Academy Foundation takes over Marti’s contract and manages its own seminar and conference center, which, however, also offers its services to external organizations. Schloss Freudenfels AG is established.

  • 1989-1992

    The castle undergoes extensive and far-reaching renovation work; once completed, the building is placed under the protection of the Swiss Confederation.

  • 1988

    Einsiedeln Abbey enters into a leasing contract with Marti Unternehmungen AG: Marti receives the right to use the castle, where it intends to establish its own company training center. In return, Marti pays a monthly rent, takes on all renovation and conversion costs, and grants the monks of Einsiedeln the right to spend their holidays on the property during the training center’s annual closing - the perfect solution for the Abbey.

  • 1985

    The last governor from Einsiedeln dies at the castle and is not replaced. The governorship is affiliated with that of Schloss Sonnenberg (Stettfurt, Canton of Thurgau). The Abbey, which bears the cost of maintaining the buildings, seeks a solution.

  • 1960-1985

    The problems of farming and forestry - all over Switzerland - grow increasingly acute, and yields shrink significantly.

  • 1965

    The farm is leased to a company belonging to the Abbey.

  • Colored lithograph, probably by G. Gersbach, after the drawing by Friedrich August Pecht, 1832.

    1798

    In the wake of the Helvetic Revolution, Freudenfels loses its territory and manorial rights, including those in Eschenz. The Abbey’s possessions shrink to the castle and grounds, the farm, and approximately 100 hectares of land consisting of woodland, meadows, arable land, fields, and vineyards. The governor from Einsiedeln retains his position, but also undertakes pastoral duties. The revenues from farming and forestry are initially enough to pay the employees and maintain the buildings.

  • 1623

    At the instigation of the Swiss Benedictine Congregation, the Abbey of Einsiedeln acquires the domain of Freudenfels, which it merges with that of Eschenz. In accordance with the Counter-Reformation, this acquisition has the (successful) aim of re-catholicizing the local populace. Henceforth, the governor, a monk from Einsiedeln, manages the fortunes of the domain. The same year, the Abbey sells Schloss Oberstaad – acquired in 1608 –, which is located on the opposite shore of the lake.

  • 1524

    The castle owns a farm, two barns, two wine cellars and extensive lands, and exercises lower legal jurisdiction. This provides a considerable source of revenue.

  • 1464

    After the conquest of Thurgau by the Swiss Confederacy, Zurich takes over Freudenfels on a burgage tenure contract (protection).

  • 1359

    The Lords of Hohenklingen, owners at the time, sell their property to the Archdukes of Austria. Subsequently, the castle and its legal jurisdiction change hands frequently. Owners include squires and patricians from the local area as well as farther afield.

  • Circa 1300

    On the site of the current castle, a tower for defense and accommodation purposes is built to safeguard the region and protect trade on the Lower Lake and the River Rhine.

  • 958

    Emperor Otto the Great endows the Benedictine Abbey of Einsiedeln, now owner of Schloss Freudenfels, with the Manor of Eschenz, including parish rights and a court. This will subsequently fall under the legal jurisdiction of Eschenz.

  • 2008-2011

    Repair and renovation work is carried out on the façades and courtyard walls. The interior design is updated.

  • 1989-1992

    In compliance with conservation regulations, all buildings are completely renovated and converted into a training center, albeit involving little radical interference in the old structure of the building. The rooms are furnished accordingly. The former baroque garden is resurrected; a terrace is built between the castle and the “Women’s House”; and the farming family that used to live in the castle is given a modern home to the west of the new barn.

  • 1965

    A modern barn is added to the farm to the southwest of the property.

  • 1956-1965

    Various renovations and conversion work are carried out, both inside the castle and on the façade, partially reversing the interventions of the 19th century.

  • 1956

    The chapel is relocated to the north wing of the castle. Based on old illustrations, the gateway to the courtyard is reconstructed.

  • 1900/1901

    The ancient barn burns down and is rebuilt, incorporating the remains of earlier walls. Immediately to the west, an extension is constructed, featuring six rooms for farm laborers - presumably in the location of an earlier farmhouse.

  • 1891

    The chapel on the first floor is relocated to the southwestern corner of the entrance hall.

  • 1850-1861

    Further renovation work is carried out to repair damage dating from the revolutionary period (1798–1803) and immediately thereafter.

  • 1824

    Possibly during refurbishment, the castle is given a bell tower.

  • 1747-1749

    Urgent renovation work is carried out both inside and outside the castle under the direction of master builder Franz Singer from Messkirch, incorporating the mediaeval outer walls. Numerous contemporary decorative elements are installed, such as stucco, painted doors, and stoves. This remodeling has determined the country-house, baroque character of the castle to this day. At the same time, the so-called “Weiberhaus” (Women’s House) is built, featuring a bake-house, laundry, and chicken coop as well as rooms for female servants and a drying kiln.

  • 1716

    The farm belonging to the castle is replaced by a new one to the immediate west of the barn.

  • 1692-1697

    After numerous complaints on the part of the governor about the wretched state of the building, some repairs are carried out. It is likely that the moat was filled in and the walled courtyard built at this time.

  • 1617

    The tower is extended uphill. At the same time, the old buildings are restored.

  • 1524

    The building complex is described in greater detail when it is sold. The castle includes a farm, two barns, and two wine cellars.

  • Circa 1300

    A tower is built for defense and accommodation purposes. This is a three-floor edifice with 7,5 m side length constructed from coarse gravel standing on a rocky promontory, which is already very well protected by virtue of its location. The hillside is facing a moat.

Skip navigation Scroll to top

Scroll to top

Die Geschichte von Schloss Freudenfels

Ursprünglich um 1300 als Burg mit Wehrturm errichtet, entstand in der Barockzeit die heutige Schlossanlage. Über Jahrhunderte bewohnten Mönche des Klosters Einsiedeln das herrschaftliche Anwesen, bevor es sich zu einem einzigartigen Veranstaltungsort für Feiern und Seminare entwickelte.

  • Ein kurzer geschichtlicher Abriss
  • Die Baugeschichte auf einen Blick
  • 1996

    Aus wirtschaftlichen Überlegungen bemüht sich die Firma Marti um einen Partner oder Nachfolger für sein Zentrum. Die Liechtenstein Global Trust übernimmt den Vertrag der Firma Marti und führt hier sein eigenes Seminar- und Tagungszentrum, das indes seine Leistungen auch Externen anbietet. Es entsteht die Schloss Freudenfels AG.

  • 1989-1992

    erfolgen die umfangreichen, tiefgreifenden Bauarbeiten, bei deren Abschluss das Schloss unter den Schutz der Eidgenossenschaft gestellt wird.

  • 1988

    schliesst das Kloster Einsiedeln mit der Marti Unternehmungen AG einen Pachtvertrag ab: Marti erhält die Nutzungsrechte für das Schloss, wo es ein firmeneigenes Aus- und Weiterbildungszentrum einrichten will. Marti zahlt dafür einen monatlichen Pachtzins, übernimmt vollumfänglich die Renovations- und Umbaukosten und gewährt den Einsiedler Mönchen das Ferienrecht während ihrer Betriebsferien – eine Traumlösung für die Abtei.

  • 1985

    stirbt der letzte Einsiedler Statthalter auf dem Schloss und wird nicht ersetzt. Die Statthalterei wird derjenigen von Schloss Sonnenberg (Stettfurt TG) angegliedert. Die Abtei, auf deren Schultern die Last des Unterhalts der Gebäude lastet, sucht nach einer Lösung.

  • 1960-1985

    akzentuieren sich - wie landesweit - die Probleme der Land- und Forstwirtschaft, die Erträge schmelzen markant.

  • 1965

    geht der Bauernhof in einen Pachtbetrieb des Klosters über.

  • Kolorierte Lithographie, wahrscheinlich von G. Gersbach nach der Zeichnung von Friedrich August Pecht, 1832.

    1798

    im Zug der Helvetischen Revolution verliert Freudenfels sein Gebiet und seine herrschaftlichen Rechte, auch diejenigen in Eschenz. Der Besitz der Abtei schrumpft zusammen auf die Schlossanlage, den dazugehörigen Bauernhof und etwa hundert Hektaren Land, bestehend aus Wald, Wiesen, Äcker, Felder und Reben. Der Einsiedler Statthalter behält seine Funktion, ist aber zugleich Seelsorger. Die Erträge der Land- und Forstwirtschaft reichen zunächst für die Entlöhnung der Angestellten und den Unterhalt der Gebäude.

  • 1623

    Erwirbt die Abtei Einsiedeln auf Betreiben der Schweizerischen Benediktinerkongregation die Herrschaft Freudenfels und vereint sie mit derjenigen von Eschenz. Dieser Akt steht im Zeichen der Gegenreformation und strebt (erfolgreich) die Rekatholisierung der hiesigen Bevölkerung an. Der Statthalter, ein Einsiedler Mönch, leitet fortan die Geschicke der Herrschaft. Im selben Jahr verkauft die Abtei das auf der andern Seeseite liegende, 1608 erworbene Schloss Oberstaad.

  • 1524

    gehören zum Schloss ein Hof, zwei Scheunen, zwei Torkel, ein umfangreiches Territorium und die niedere Gerichtsbarkeit, aus welchen namhafte Einkünfte fliessen.

  • 1464

    nach der Eroberung des Thurgaus durch die Eidgenossen nimmt Zürich Freudenfels unter Burgrechtsvertrag (Schutz).

  • 1359

    veräussern die damaligen Besitzer, die Herren von Hohenklingen, ihren Besitz an die Erzherzöge von Österreich. In der Folge wechseln Schloss und Gerichtsherrschaft oft den Besitzer. Als Eigentümer treffen wir Junker und Patrizier aus der näheren und ferneren Umgebung an.

  • um 1300

    entsteht an der Stelle des heutigen Schlosses ein Wehr- und Wohnturm mit dem Zweck, die Gegend und den Handel auf Untersee und Rhein zu sichern.

  • 958

    Kaiser Otto der Grosse schenkt der Benediktiner Abtei Einsiedeln, der heutigen Eigentümerin von Schloss Freudenfels, den Hof Eschenz mit Pfarreirecht und Gericht. Daraus entwickelt sich in der Folge die Gerichtsherrschaft Eschenz.

  • 2008-2011

    werden an den Fassaden und Hofmauern Sanierungs- und Renovationsarbeiten vorgenommen. Die Inneneinrichtung wird erneuert.

  • 1989-1992

    erfolgt unter Einhaltung der denkmalpflegerischen Vorgaben eine umfassende Renovation und die Umgestaltung aller Gebäude zum Ausbildungszentrum mit wenigen grundlegenden Eingriffen in die alte Bausubstanz. Die Räume werden entsprechend eingerichtet. Der frühere Barockgarten erwacht zu neuem Leben. Zwischen Schloss und Weiberhaus entsteht eine Terrasse. Die früher im Schloss wohnende Bauernfamilie erhält ein modernes Wohnhaus westlich der neuen Scheune.

  • 1965

    der Bauernhof erhält eine moderne Scheune im Südwesten der Anlage.

  • 1956-1965

    erfolgen diverse Renovations- und Umbauarbeiten im Innern und an den Fassaden des Schlosses. Teilweise werden die Eingriffe aus dem 19. Jahrhundert rückgängig gemacht.

  • 1956

    die Kapelle findet ihren neuen Standort im Nordflügel des Schlosses. Das Eingangstor zum Hof entsteht nach alten Bilddokumenten.

  • 1900/1901

    die uralte Scheune brennt ab und wird unter Einbezug von Mauerresten wieder aufgebaut. Unmittelbar westlich angrenzend entsteht ein Anbau mit sechs Kammern für Knechte - vermutlich an Stelle eines früheren Bauernhauses.

  • 1891

    die im ersten Obergeschoss befindliche Kapelle wird in die südwestliche Ecke der Eingangshalle verlegt.

  • 1850-1861

    es folgen weitere Renovationen zur Behebung der Schäden aus der Revolutionszeit (1798-1803) und unmittelbar danach.

  • 1824

    erhält das Schloss möglicherweise im Zug einer Restaurierung ein Glockentürmchen.

  • 1747-1749

    erfolgt innen und aussen eine dringend notwendig gewordene tiefgreifende Erneuerung der Schlossgebäude unter der Leitung von Baumeister Franz Singer aus Messkirch unter Einbezug der mittelalterlichen Aussenmauern. Es werden zahlreiche zeitgenössische Verzierungselemente wie Stuckaturen, Türbemalungen und Öfen eingebaut. Diese Umgestaltung prägt noch heute das Schlossgebäude, das jetzt die Gestalt eines barocken Landhauses annimmt. Gleichzeitig entsteht neben dem Schloss das sogenannte Weiberhaus mit Back-, Wasch- und Hühnerhaus sowie Kammern für das weibliche Dienstpersonal und einer Dörranlage.

  • 1716

    wird der zum Schloss gehörende Bauernhof durch einen neuen unmittelbar westlich an die Scheune angrenzenden ersetzt.

  • 1692-1697

    nach zahlreichen Klagen des Statthalters über den desolaten Bauzustand werden einige Reparaturen vorgenommen. In diese Zeit fällt vermutlich die Auffüllung des Halsgrabens und die Entstehung des mauerbewehrten Hofes.

  • 1617

    wird der Turm bergseitig durch einen Anbau erweitert. Gleichzeitig erfolgt eine Instandsetzung der alten Gebäude.

  • 1524

    Anlässlich eines Verkaufs wird der Gebäudekomplex näher beschrieben. Zur Feste gehören ein Bauernhof, zwei Scheunen und zwei Torkel.

  • um 1300

    Entstehung eines Wehr- und Wohnturms. Es handelt sich dabei um einen auf einem Felssporn stehenden dreigeschossigen Bau von 7,5 m Seitenlänge aus groben Kieselsteinen, der allein durch seine Lage schon sehr geschützt ist. Auf der Bergseite umgibt ihn ein Halsgraben.